(866) 929-2964CONTACT US

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.
Peruvian Chakana Necklace - Two Color Stone

Peruvian Chakana Necklace - Two Color Stone w Silver Bead


(In stock)

Peruvian Chakana Necklace - Two Color Stone « »

Peruvian Chakana Necklace - Two Color Stone w Silver Bead

Quick Overview

The Andean symbol of the Incan civilization, our chakana talisman necklace is created from colorful stones in a horizontal pattern. Derived from Quechua, the traditional language of the Incas, the word chakay, means to cross or to bridge, as between this world and the otherworlds.  A chakana is a 3-stepped symmetric cross, sometimes with a hole in the center. Strung on black cord with a silvertone accent bead. Each item is unique and handmade in Peru.

SKU: j0058
  • Product Size:
  • Pendant 1.25" x 1.25"; Cord approx 26" L

Availability:In stock

Product Positives:

Product Icon Product Icon
Product Origin:


The Chakana (or Inca Cross) symbolizes for Inca mythology what is known in other mythologies as the World Tree or Tree of Life. The stepped cross is made up of an equal-armed cross indicating the cardinal points of the compass with a superimposed square. The square represents the other two levels of existence. The three levels of existence are Hana Pacha (the upper world inhabited by the superior gods), Kay Pacha, (the world of our everyday existence) and Ucu or Urin Pacha (the underworld inhabited by spirits of the dead, the ancestors, their overlords and various deities having close contact to the Earth plane). 

The hole through the center of the cross is the axis by means of which the shaman transits the cosmic vault to the other levels. It also represents Cuzco, the center of the Incan empire, and the Southern Cross constellation. The cross has 12 points and legend has it these points represent the following sayings, affirmations and life points: I live, I work, I love; the underworld, present world, upper world; the cougar, the eagle, the snake. The four flat sides represent the elements: water, air,earth, fire.