FREE US Shipping over $75* 

Machu Picchu Stone Chakana- DISCOUNTED/2nds

SKU: si0500x

 • Product Size: 5" L  x  4.5" H  x  1.25" W

Fair Trade
Hand Made

Product Origin

Shamans Market-Peru

Discounted: has visible chips or repaired cracks, does not effect it standing.

The chakana, or Inca Cross, is a powerful symbol of the Andes' ancient cultures and is considered the most complete sacred geometrical design for the Incas. This chakana inca cross symbol is often seen at ancient sites and sacred centers though out the Andes of Peru and Bolivia. This piece is made from "Machu Picchu stone" - similar to serpentine. Hand carved in Peru.

 - 100% Money Back Guarantee
100% Money Back Guarantee
Save for later
Email to friend

  • Traditonally, the chakana (cruz cuadrada meaning square cross in Spanish) represents the Southern Cross constellation which the ancient Andeans believed to be the center of the universe and was easily distinguished while gazing upon the night sky. It held great significance to the Incas and has numerous meanings in its design. Its three dimensional levels are said to represent the three worlds, which in Quechuan, the ancient Andean language, were called: Janan Pacha - Representing the Upper World/Above/Universe; Kay Pacha - Representing the Middle World /Here and; Now/Mother Earth; Ukju Pacha - Representing the Lower World/Inner Realms/Other World. Interestingly, these three worlds seem to correspond with the Holy Trinity; the Father, Son and Holy Spirit seen in Christianity, as well as the Body/Mind/Soul (Spirit) idea seen in Eastern Religions. The Inca's had three spirit animals they felt symbolized the three worlds; the condor, puma or jaguar, and the serpent. Symbols honoring spirit animals are found in many of the ancient sites and structures in the Andes. In fact, the city of Cusco, Peru was built in the shape of a puma. In addition to the Three Worlds, there are twelve steps that surround the chakana. Each of the twelve steps is said to represent a level of initiation and an attainment of consciousness. The chakana can also represent within its design the four directions, North, South, East and West, as well as the four elements, Earth, Air, Water and Fire.

  • {} - Shaman

    Shamans Market-Peru

    Shamans Market explores the Peruvian countryside to find and bring you unique offerings like this one.

    • To learn more about Shamans Market, click here to read our story.

    • For information about our Shipping and Delivery Policy, click here.

    • Still have questions? You may find your answers within our Frequently Asked Questions.

    • If you'd like to reach out for help, you'll find our contact information here.